Dispatches from the wilds of Poetania – Missed Connection

To the stunning redhead
on the uptown-bound “1” platform
at 59th st
at about 5:47 this afternoon:

You didn’t see me.
I was, at most, a blur,
a blob,
man-shaped and vague,
on the periphery of your vision.
You were busy;
reading Girl With A Dragon Tattoo,
getting home from work.
I was nothing to you.
If I had cried out, would you have turned?
If I had wept, would you have been moved?
If I had died, right there on the platform,
would you have noticed?
Would you have cared?
I think not.
I may as well have been invisible to you.
A mote of dust,
a scrap of paper,
an unheard footfall,
an unrequited love.

I really like that in a woman.
You remind me of my mother.
Call me.

Published in: on August 19, 2010 at 2:08 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,