Dispatches from the wilds of Poetania – Too Fine a Point

No sharper knife
than truth,
to cut,
to kill
without blood to stain
the innocent assassin’s hands,
who holds his head up high,
and sleeps deep the slumber of the righteous;
the polished knight,
who looks in his reflection,
and whispers no apologies
to those eyes not filled with shame,
yet
so cold,
so unsmiling,
so blue.

*****

This poem is not-unintentionally reminiscent of one of my favourite poems: This is Just to Say, by William Carlos Williams

Published in: on September 30, 2010 at 5:41 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://spenceria.wordpress.com/2010/09/30/dispatches-from-the-wilds-of-poetania-too-fine-a-point/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is…. very morally deep, for a make-it-up-as-you-go-along-hedonist. And, if I may so, very pointed. I mean, if I didn’t say it Pat would have, right?

    The execution is flawless. There is not a syllable out of place.

    I’ll have to come back to it when my judgement is less impaired by sleep deprivation, but I think this may actually be my new favourite poem you’ve ever written. Certainly, I do believe I will plagiarisereference this if I get around to writing certain blog posts I’ve been drafting lately.

    • Just ‘cos you only like me ‘cos I’m pretty, doesn’t mean I don’t also have a brain…

      I tend to think Pat would have said something along the lines of “Looking SHARP. Hayuk yuk yuk.” Sigh. I miss that, sometimes.

      To be honest, there’s a line in there that is perhaps superfluous. But if you don’t see it, then YES IT’S PERFECT.

      Hurry up and finish your posts, you slacker! Sleep deprivation, shmeprivation. I wrote this at 3 am! Sleep is for suckers.

      OHGODI’MSOTIREDRIGHTNOW.

  2. By the way, yours is now the second blog where some bug in either wordpress or google reader has caused old posts to appear ad unread.

    I DEMAND THAT YOU HAVE THIS PROBLEM FIXED IMMEDIATELY.

    • Yeah, I modified the categories to make site navigation simpler – WHICH NO-ONE EVEN NOTICED – and that seems to have re-fed all the posts whose categories I modified. I meant to post an apology, but that would have just been one more post popping up in your reader feed.

      P.S. There’s a “mark all as read” button for a reason, YOU BIG BABY.


Leave a Reply

