Dispatches from the wilds of Poetania – Sonnet 01

Oh, fair maid with limpid eyes,
and lips of fairest coral;
how, my heart, she doth paralyse,
and fill with thoughts immoral!
To feel her betwixt my arms,
her soft breath ‘pon my ear,
and for all her dainty charms,
no price could be too dear!
And my heart is fit to burst,
my days pass in a haze,
for her love I ardently thirst,
in a thousand, thirsty ways!
Oh, shining brighter than the sun,
verily; none’s hotter than your mum.

Published in: on June 10, 2010 at 11:33 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://spenceria.wordpress.com/2010/06/10/dispatches-from-the-wilds-of-poetania-sonnet-01/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Brilliant. Let’s see the Bard write something that good eh?

    • Good luck! I hear he just spends all his time lying around, these days. Hasn’t written anything in aaaages, the lazy bugger.

  2. In faith, thy sonnet’s better than much verse,
    for so much web is trite and poorly writ;
    with poetry that could hardly be worse
    each poet proves himself online a twit.
    And yet, oh Spen, your words are ever bright,
    despite the flaws of scansion in some spots,
    (which for your friends could hardly mar delight)
    each Thursday sees us here for your bon mots.
    Of course, it’s hardly fair me me to tease
    your scansion when my own’s so very weak,
    at least your verses can be read with ease
    without recourse to bad French: I’ll be meek.
    You know of course, that in the USA
    they won’t appreciate you. Spencer, stay!

  3. Okay…the ending did catch me off guard…quite a witty ending.

    • Ah ha, I am glad. I’d be a little worried if you were expecting it… for that would make my job so much harder!

  4. In faith, thy sonnet’s better than much verse,
    for so much web is trite and poorly writ;
    with poetry that could hardly be worse
    each poet proves himself online a twit.
    And yet, oh Spen, your words are ever bright
    despite the flaws of scansion in some spots,
    (which for your friends could hardly mar delight)
    each Thursday sees us here for your bon mots.
    Of course, it’s hardly fair me me to tease
    your scansion when my own’s so very weak,
    at least your verses can be read with ease
    without recourse to bad French: I’ll be meek.
    You know of course, that in the USA
    they won’t appreciate you. Spencer, stay!

  5. Damn you, computer, doubling my thing! *shakes fist* Please feel free to delete the extra one.

    • And forever erase the evidence of your unabashed enthusiasm/technical nincompoopery? I think not!
      Your sonnet, obviously, deserves a far more in-depth response. I shall set myself to the task. (Though there is at least a 50% chance that ultimately I’ll procrastinate until I forget all about it…)

  6. This is awesome.

    • Your mum’s awesome.


Leave a Reply

