Dispatches from the wilds of Poetania – Personal space

I do not love you
not even remotely.
I never have,
in fact.
The feel of your touch
makes my skin crawl
have you never wondered
why you’ve never met my friends?
Why I never go out
with you?
I could not bear the looks
(and there would definitely be looks)
from the people in the street.
I wish that I
could toss you away
and live life like
an ascetic Zen monk
but life is not that simple
(I’m sure you know)
I’d hate to offend
the loved one
who thought that I would like you
(I care about them, you see)
so I guess we’re stuck together.
It’s not like
I need the space
in my wardrobe anyway.

Published in: on January 27, 2008 at 9:44 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://spenceria.wordpress.com/2008/01/27/dispatches-from-the-wilds-of-poetania-personal-space/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

