Dispatches from the wilds of Poetania – That first step

My stomach plummets.
Vertigo.
I’m not even falling.
My mind swirls like an ecstatic lemming.
My primitive reptilian brain screams,
it feels the world is broken.
On a higher level, I understand,
but can do nothing
but reel with it.
All this, and you haven’t done a thing
you stand, unmoving and unmoved
yet you manage to shatter my universe
into a thousand delirious pin-wheels –
a mad tea-party in my mind.
I take a breath, steady myself,
fingertips seeking soft reassurance.
I step forward –
your cold, metal stair.
Breathing out, I begin
to escalate myself.

Published in: on January 16, 2008 at 1:30 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://spenceria.wordpress.com/2008/01/16/dispatches-from-the-wilds-of-poetania-that-first-step/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You are an intelligent poet, Spence. The pin-wheel images are very unsettling.


Leave a Reply

